Re: Elvis/Police , Buffalo, NY May 3

Post by johnfoyle »

http://www.buffalonews.com/entertainmen ... 37117.html

The Buffalo News

Elvis Costello offers a platter that matters

Elvis Costello releases new music on old-fashioned vinyl

Jeff Miers: Sound Check
05/02/08

I have a photograph, somewhere, of my first rock critic hero, Lester Bangs, slouched in his rather disgusting New York City apartment, surrounded by immense piles of records, presumably ones sent to him gratis by record labels, to be considered for review.

Many would probably find this photo unappealing, redolent as it is of the scattershot chaos that permeated Bangs’ life and his writing. Me? I love that picture. It somehow symbolizes the “I refuse to grow up” glory of what I do for a living.

By the time I got around to following in Bangs’ footsteps, those beautiful record albums had been zapped by the consumerist shrink ray. CDs were immediately convenient, but they sounded like garbage, and they were much more difficult to fetishize over than their big, bold, gatefolded forebears. It has been difficult to feel like a Bangs, a Richard Robinson, a Robert Christgau, while holding these tiny little digitally encoded Frisbees a few inches from my face to compensate for increasingly poor eyesight. The things don’t look as cool scattered all over one’s living space, either. Just ask my wife.

I have much to thank Elvis Costello for. We named our only son after the guy — Declan, not Elvis, mind you. He’s given us quite a catalog of beautiful songs, some raging and self-righteous, some frightened and lost, some shimmering with compositional and lyrical beauty. Costello concerts are, more often than not, breathtaking.

I’m most grateful to Costello, however, for affording me my first opportunity to review a new release on thick, fat vinyl.