Spike Demo Version Revisited

Pretty self-explanatory
TurtleDanceMan

Spike Demo Version Revisited

Post by TurtleDanceMan »

Hi everyone, I'm a writer for Spectrum Culture and recently did a piece about the demo version of Spike. I'm pasting the link here as I believe readers of this Elvis sight MIGHT enjoy reading it.

All comments, criticisms, and corrections are most appreciated. For the forum admins - as this is purely Elvis-related and hopefully will prompt discussion about Spike and the demos, I hope you will allow this posting.

Thanks.

Eric

http://spectrumculture.com/2010/02/revi ... rsion.html
Neil.

Re: Spike Demo Version Revisited

Post by Neil. »

Nice piece! Makes me want to revisit the demos - though I can't actually believe they'll be an improvement on most of the album proper!
Jack of All Parades

Post by Jack of All Parades »

Thank you for sharing your piece. You write with a muscular authority and clearly have a connection with your subject. Your prose is engaging and moves the reader along. I would only take issue with your conclusion that the 'demos' provide a stronger presentation of EC's lyrics. I would argue that cluttered lyrics unwrapped from their musical arrangements are still cluttered lyrics. Though the album contains some excellent songs, as you point out, "Last Boat Leaving", "Veronica", and "God's Comic" for example, it still suffers for me from a chronic problem that often inflicts an EC lyric, verbal excess. The man cannot put down his thesaurus. An argument can be made that what people call his tremendous ability to write a memorable lyric really consists of a particular phrase or image inserted within a lyric, not the entire lyric. There is a reason so many of his songs fail to be covered by other singers; he has difficulty consistently maintaining a clean line. I actually like the full arrangements on this album as they make many of the songs listenable for my ears.